The doors of the Armenian Genocide Museum opened in 1995, on the 80th anniversary of the genocide. The unique design of the museum is planned by architects Lyudmila Mkrtchyan, Sashur Kalashian and sculptor F. Araqelyan.
From the first day of its opening, the museum has received numerous visitors from Armenia and abroad. According to a state protocol, visiting the museum is mandatory for official foreign delegations. Many of them have already done it; among them are the President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin, Pope John Paul II, the President of France Jacques Chirac and other high-ranking officials.
The museum suggests guided tours in Armenian, English, Russian, German and French. The museum holds many historical documents.
The imposing two-storey building of the museum stands directly into the side of a hill before the impressive presence of the Genocide Monument nearby. The first floor is subterranean and holds the engineering, technical and administrative offices and the Komitas Hall with its 170 seats. The library, reading hall, storage rooms for scientific objects and artifacts are also situated here.
On the second floor, the Museum exhibit is located, which covers over 1000 square meters space. There are three primary indoor exhibit halls and a gallery here.
The essence of the Genocide Monument is to memorialize the innocent victims of the 1915 massacre implemented by the Ottoman Empire. The Genocide Museum’s mission is keeping with the notion that the recognition of the Armenian Genocide is a significant step for preventing the future tragedies of similar character. Those who forget the past are condemned to repeat it.